FastCAT day!

Mar. 28th, 2026 07:32 pm
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses

The beaft.


Her two runs for today!

She didn't break ten seconds today, but that second run was pretty good. Between 10 and 11 seconds seems to be Her Time, for the most part. (Apparently she also maybe tripped on that second run? Alex said she suddenly veered to one side, but she kept going!)

And as always, she seemed to have a lot of fun. Apparently someone walked past as they were heading back from a run and said "Now that's an obedience dog!" because she was walking so nice, haha.

There's another event next weekend, so she'll get to run again pretty soon.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses
The final post about our trip to the zoo!

Once again, most of these pictures are from inside the Tropical Discovery building, which is always my favorite, ha.


Eyelash viper, indeed showing off some lovely lashes.


Eight pictures below the cut:

This monitor was climbing up the tree right as we arrived.


Cobra!


They seem like they're just hanging out.


This guy looks like a little dragon!


Last time someone said the alligator snapping turtle looked like it was just an ordinary-sized turtle, so this time I attempted to get an object for scale. Unfortunately a large crowd of people were coming up, so I didn't get to position my for-scale water bottle the best. The bottle is closer than the turtle, so he's really still even bigger than he looks!


Just a wonderfully polite looking komodo dragon. Would never bite you and leave you to die of sepsis.


Chameleons are so cool. I love their mitten hands.


This guy came right up to stare back, haha.



I love the salt and pepper rattlesnake. :)

Spring (and pet) pictures!

Mar. 26th, 2026 07:47 pm
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses
What a lovely summer we're having this spring...


We set an all time record for a high temperature in March yesterday. The previous high temp record for the month was set... last Saturday. That broke the previous all-time record that was set... last Thursday. So yeah, we broke that all time high temp record three times in seven days! This is normal and fine!


Callery pears, my beloathed. But look how happy the bees are!


Seven pictures of mainly flowers and pets:

Went to Petco to get crickets, but they had their Halloween stuff on clearance. So Bella got a planchette costume, with "ouija board" blanket, haha. (The orange fish was also on clearance. It has proven to be quite a hit!)

A few pictures from last week:


A little bird nest, presumably from last year.


I was trying to get a picture of a bee here, too, but instead just caught it flying away, ha.

From last weekend, at my mom and Taylor's house:


Someone left a Thanksgiving turkey on the floor. (Poor Jaspurr, it's not his fault he looks like a turkey.)


Sometimes he doesn't look like a turkey! Look how comfy he is!


My mom's lemon tree is blooming. It smelled lovely!


Daffodils in my mom's front garden!


And then a couple pictures from today:


Redbud blooming!


The very sudden emergence of an early lilac flower!

(This makes me think of [personal profile] spikedluv. I miss you.)
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses
Part two of the trip to the zoo!

Frogs and fish. :)

(As always, we spent the bulk of our time in Tropical Discovery, which is where most of the reptiles/amphibians/fish are. I know I've shared pictures of many of these same critters before. I don't care, because I love them.)


What mossy frog? I see no mossy frog. Just some moss! (I do like the little water droplets on the moss.)


Six more frogs:


The most -_- face in existence.


Panamanian golden frog. Sadly probably extinct in the wild.


This is doing zero justice to HOW SMALL this frog is.


Fat and happy.


Dart frogs!


Lake titicaca frogs remain my beloved weirdoes.



As at the aquarium, I do really love lionfish.


Seven more fish:


Cooperatively posing fish. :)


Epaulette shark snuggling up with an eel. And a fancy fish!


These epaulette sharks were very sociable.


This guy looks like one of those little ice cream sundaes. The kind with a cup of vanilla ice cream and chocolate 'stripes'?


This kind.


So dramatic!


One last zoo post to come, featuring some reptiles!
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses


This week, I used some viney plant/leaf stickers, in an attempt to bully myself into actually doing some of the houseplant care that I've been failing to get to since before the appendicitis. It worked! It was also appropriate, because this week was when trees around here very suddenly decided to have leaves again. Later I realized that green was also a timely choice for St. Patrick's day. (Though I'll keep the snakes, thanks.)

This was a somewhat weird week; Sunday started with the most snow we've had all season, and then we broke multiple heat records (for the month, not just specific date) on Thursday and Saturday. I am delighted that spring flowers and leaves are showing up, though the heat and dryness is still a worry. I did play a lot of video games this week (though really, that just means I played for an hour or two each day.) It's been nice getting to play things again. (Or get to play things that came out in the last decade or two.) I did most of the important/responsible things I wanted to. I finished another book. It was a pretty decent week, even if I didn't manage to do quite everything.

Goals for the week:

  • I did call my doctor's office to try and sort out my insurance, but they just told me to call my insurance company
  • I did my plant care (for at least half of my plants, the ones in the most need)
  • We did go get crickets
  • I did pay a chunk of my hospital bill
  • I read Butterfly Effects
  • I worked on my reviews
  • I did not work on my WIP outline
  • I did not work on my reading page
  • I did set up my PS5
  • I did not clean up my table and drawer
  • I started The Map and the Territory
  • I did call my insurance company, and they've allegedly submitted a request to my doctor's office to resubmit the claim
  • I went to the bank
  • I did not send a thank you card

Tracked habits:

  • Work - 5/7
  • Household Maintenance - 2/7
  • Physical Activity - 4/7
  • Wrote 500/1000+ Words - 0/7
  • Non-fiction Writing - 1/7 - over 500 words
  • Meta Work - 4/7
  • Personal Writing - 3/7
  • Other Creative Things - 0/7
  • Reading - 7/7 - I read most of/finished Butterfly Effects, and started The Map and the Territory, I read a little bit of my ebook side-read; Alex and I read some of The Luminous Dead.
  • Attention to Media - 6/7 - Sunday had exploration and game videos in the background; Monday through Wednesday had some youtube in the background; Friday had some news and game videos on; Saturday watched some paranormal videos and then had news in the background.
  • Video Games - 6/7 - "Sampled" a bunch of different games that I just got: Persona 5 Royal, Silent Hill f, Untitled Goose Game, Fallout 4, and Hades.
  • Social Interaction - 4/7

Total words written: 525 words on reviews

Video Games!

Mar. 20th, 2026 06:07 pm
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses
I have gotten to play things on the shiny new PS5 that I got for my birthday!

My most recent system prior was a PS3, which for me still feels so ~modern~, in part because I also got that one fairly late (I think the PS4 came out within a year) but... it's not so much a current system at this point, haha. I still had a handful of games that I played periodically, but hadn't had a chance to play anything newer. Until now!

(I really, really like that the PS5 is backwards-compatible to the PS4, because it opens up the potential game library even more!)

So here are the handful of games that I have now played:

- Persona 5 Royal
Persona 5 is probably the most recent game that I got to play on the PS5. I got relatively far through one playthrough, but I wimped out right before The Betrayal, because I knew it was going to happen and it made me sad, haha.
I have periodically gotten the urge to play it again, but I generally only get through the first Palace before I wander away, and then when I come back, I feel the need to start over again.
Persona games in general, and certainly 5, are a bit of a struggle for my general perfectionism/completionist tendencies. There's just so much in order to maximize your stats, and max out all the confidants, and catch all the personas, pokemon-style... and trying to ensure you do all of the above makes for an extremely rigid play experience (it's possible with a guide, but means that you HAVE to do everything in a very exact way.) I need to just let myself have fun however I want, even if it means I miss things or don't max everything out. That can be what a New Game+ is for!
(I really did enjoy this game, and I'm interested in the additions that came along with Royal. The new character that was introduced even in the intro interests me.)

- Untitled Goose Game
This is so fun! I love how creative some of the puzzle options are, for what's ultimately fairly simple gameplay. The goose is adorable, and it's just so damn fun to get to run around and be an absolute menace.
I've made it through the first three areas, so there's one left to go. I do see this having replay appeal, just for having fun, even after knowing the puzzle solutions.

- Silent Hill f
One of the games I have been most upset about being unable to play. I avoided basically any spoilers, until the day after I got it when accidentally tripping over one, alas.
Turns out, I've gotten really bad at survival horror games, lol. I need to practice, haha. This used to be my genre!
I haven't gotten terribly far - just through the first chunk that happens in town, and then the first shrine level. I love the setting - Japan in the 1960s - and the monster designs so far. The puzzles have so far been fairly simple, but feel suited to the franchise. (Though when I was your age, if we wanted to write down a puzzle clue, we had to bring our own paper! The protagonist wouldn't just write it down in her journal for you!) That said, I do really love the journal - the art in it is lovely, and I like having something more than just the map to flip through and look at in-game. I like that those entries are revealing in terms of the protagonist, as well. I do wish the journal kept track of the notes that you find, and am surprised that it doesn't seem to.
Part of me already wants to restart in the hopes of doing better, because wow, I'm not good at it, but I should probably just power forward and save the getting-better-at-it for future playthroughs, since again, multiple endings means I'll likely want to replay anyway.

- Fallout 4
My playing this game immediately hit on an annoying bug on the very first screen of the game itself. Character creation. This is apparently a fairly common bug, across all platforms, and has been a known issue since the game was released. We haven't been able to patch it in more than a decade, now? Come on. Luckily the easy fix did fix it, and it's hopefully not going to reoccur, but still.
I'm still very much at the start, having just left the vault. I do really wish for a plot other than "find my beloved kidnapped family member", because I fundamentally am not interested in that as a character motivation. (Didn't care when it was finding my dad in 3, though at least that had the fairly funny "now I'm Liam Neeson's daughter trying to rescue him for a change" thing. I care about a thousand times less about wanting to rescue my baby, sorry. Hate babies. Don't care. Stay gone. Come back, Courier 6 - I'd much rather go on a revenge quest against the person who interrupted my delivery and failed to murder me!) Sure, this is "rescue my baby, and get revenge for my dead spouse" but... idk, it still falls flat.
I am leaving my PS3 accessible to basically be a dedicated Fallout: New Vegas machine, but I will keep playing more of 4 and see how I like it. (I've heard not-great things about the story and writing, but have also heard that it is still quite fun, and it certainly plays like a Fallout game, which IS sometimes just what I want.)

- Hades
The only game I bought new, haha. Everything else we were able to pick up used at a local game store.
I am also very much not good at this game in the slightest yet, but I am having so much fun. I'm early yet, still in Tartarus, Meg has kicked my ass immediately both times I've made it to her, and I managed to beat one miniboss once. So... not great.
While I've watched the main plotline all the way through with Taylor playing, this is my first time playing it myself. I am impressed all over again at the design itself, in terms of how information and mechanics are introduced. I love how different each run feels, while also still feeling like you are improving and progressing. It's also a bit freeing to NOT have the option to save or reload - there is no "doing it wrong," because dying over and over and trying again is the whole point. I have yet to feel "bad" about losing a run (minus a few, "ugh, why did my dumb ass step on a spike trap" things), so even when I kind of suck, I feel okay about it, haha.
I'm excited to try and get all the character plotlines completed, even though I know it takes forever. We went through the conclusion of the main plot, but I want to resolve the Achilles/Patroclus plot, the Orpheus/Eurydice plot, and the Zagreus/Thanatos/Meg line. (Love when a game gives you multiple romance options, and also apparently allows a poly option.)
I'm guessing this is the game I'll be playing the most, at least for now.

- Skyrim
A much-played PS3 game, ha. I have not played the shiny new PS5 version yet, but Alex has, and he's very happy with it! He said he really likes the graphics upgrade (and tbh, I was still pretty pleased with how the PS3 one looked), and he's hit a few of the new quest lines, which is novel and a lot of fun. He's been having a great time.
I will eventually start up a new game, because it is a lot of fun. As is frequently a problem, I end up starting over when I want to play, getting through the same early-game stuff as always, wandering away from it, and then feeling like I need to start over again the next time I want to play... over and over. It's been a long time since I made it to some of my favorite areas and plotlines (and the fun DLC questlines), because I never get that far!

So... that's where I'm at. I'm trying not to let games absorb all my free time, but so far I've been happy with an hour or two of playing each night, while also still getting some other stuff done. Though that's in general been that issue to overcome: feeling like I should be doing something "productive" instead of "just" playing a game. But I'm allowed to have fun, dammit. And I am!
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses
(It's not just the "Denver Zoo" anymore, ha.)

The Monday before my birthday, Alex and I went to the zoo. :)

It was a really pleasantly warm day, so it was great for walking around!

Less great for walking around was how much pain Alex was in. He was unfortunately hurting pretty badly, but we made it through most of the zoo, and did stay until closing! Just sucky that it did make parts of the day a bit less enjoyable for him.

One thing we hadn't done before was ride the train, ha. It's a mini railroad that takes you on about a five-minute loop around a bit of the zoo. It was just a few dollars to ride, so we decided to do it, haha. It was fun!

As always, took too many pictures, so I'll split it into three posts. This one for the birds and mammals, and probably one for fish and frogs, and one for the reptiles.


Both tigers were out. This is the bigger, male tiger. He was enjoying his pool!


Eleven more:


Flamingos! They're fun to watch. The one running through the water was chasing others around for a bit.


The tiger was rubbing his face on the edge of the pool and looked just like a housecat. But big.


Lookit the kitty!


We wandered by at the right time for one of the elephant demonstrations.


Will lay down for some veggies.


While the event hadn't officially opened yet, they had set up most of the lanterns for their "Glowing Wild" event. There were several really neat displays! This was clearly one of the most dramatic.

(The lanterns are clearly by the same company that did the ones we saw at the lantern festival at Four Mile park last year. Very cool! I bet they're really neat after dark.)


Lemur! :D


Closeup lemur! :D Mmm, broccoli.


Fancy crane in the aviary.


This little duck apparently wanted to come fight lots of peoples' legs. Including mine.


Sleepy flying foxes!


We did hang out all the way until closing time (4:00, which felt very early, especially post-time-change.) We did skip a few areas, or kind of had to breeze through them, but we saw most of what we hoped to.

As we were heading toward the exit, we both got free pretzels, since they'd be thrown out at the end of the day. Score!

As we left the elephant passage area, Alex remarked that he wanted to see an elephant actually use the bridge. You always walk under it, but we haven't ever seen any of the elephants using it.

And immediately...


Alex summoned him!
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses


This week, a cupcake for my birthday! (This sticker was a freebie from Snarky Co's "Sweet and Snarky Bakeshop" set.)

This was a good week. Going to the zoo with Alex on Monday for a pre-birthday activity was fun. My birthday itself was lovely, despite being a workday. I am very happy with the amount of reading I did over the week, and that I got back to a little bit of WIP outline work (even if it felt a bit like pulling teeth to do.) I did get at least some of the responsible stuff done that I meant to. I'm also very happy about the time change (despite the lost hour of sleep) and no longer getting home after the sun goes down. Looking forward to getting to play new games.

Goals for the week:

  • My birthday happened!
  • I did clean the frog and toad ponds (and gave the frog a bigger pond)
  • I did finish reading Point of Dreams
  • I read The Hobbit
  • I called my doctor, but just to postpone my appointment, not to sort out the insurance problem
  • I did not clean off my table or drawer
  • I did not do my plant care
  • I did not work on my reading page
  • I did work on my WIP outline
  • I did renew my birth control px
  • I paid a chunk of my hospital bill

Tracked habits:

  • Work - 5/7
  • Household Maintenance - 3/7
  • Physical Activity - 1/7
  • Wrote 500/1000+ Words - 2/7 - both over 500 words
  • Non-fiction Writing - 0/7
  • Meta Work - 5/7
  • Personal Writing - 4/7
  • Other Creative Things - 2/7
  • Reading - 7/7 - I finished reading Point of Dreams, and read all of The Hobbit, plus some of my ebook side-read; Alex and I read a bit of The Luminous Dead
  • Attention to Media - 7/7 - Sunday and Monday watched some video game reviews; Tuesday watched storm chasing; Wednesday and Thursday more video game stuff in background; Friday had news on in the background; Saturday watched some paranormal videos followed by game stuff.
  • Video Games - 0/7
  • Social Interaction - 4/7

Total words written: 1382 on my WIP outline

Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 10:51 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios